Science Educators’ Association of the Australian Capital Territory

The BHP Billiton Foundation Science and Engineering Awards (the Awards) are Australia’s most prestigious school science and engineering awards. The finalists are the best and brightest student researchers and innovators in the country. The Awards also recognise teachers who engage students in the study of open-ended investigations and work consistently within their school community and wider professional arenas to make an outstanding contribution to science education in Australia.

The Awards are a partnership between the BHP Billiton Foundation, CSIRO, the Australian Science Teachers Association,  Science Educators’ Association of the ACT (SEAACT) and all other state and territory Science Teacher Associations across Australia. Entry to the Awards is via nomination through the SEAACT Science and Engineering Fair.

BHP Billiton Foundation Science and Engineering Awards 2018 from CSIRO on Vimeo.

Student Prizes

The top twenty-six finalists will be invited to an all-expenses paid, four-day educational science camp and the prestigious Awards ceremony to be held in Melbourne in February each year. Part of this camp includes the final judging round for the major prizes.

The top three projects from the Investigations category and top three projects from the Engineering category receive the following prizes:

  • First prize A$4000
  • Second Prize A$3000
  • Third Prize A$1500

One finalist will be awarded the Innovator to Market prize. The Innovator to Market prize winner will receive an all-expenses paid experience including attendance at one of CSIRO’s ON programs and visit to CSIRO labs or centres.

The top twenty finalists will receive a A$250 prize.

Up to 100 semi-finalist entries will win A$100.

The finalist winners for the Awards will have the chance to participate in the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (Intel ISEF) in the United States of America in May.

Up to eight winning primary entries will win A$250.

Up to 90 primary students will receive encouragement award prize packs.

Teacher Prize

Teacher finalists will be invited to attend the Awards Teacher Best Practice Seminar and the prestigious Awards ceremony to be held in Melbourne in February each year. The winning teacher will also be invited to attend Intel ISEF.

Student Entry

Entry into the Awards is via nomination only, through the SEAACT Science and Engineering Fair.

To be considered for nomination, please submit your project/s into the relevant categories:

For nominated entries into the Awards, please ensure the following requirements are met, to be eligible for selection as a finalist:


  • projects must include designing and carrying out an experimental investigation or engineering project
  • the project has been nominated for entry through the  SEAACT Science and Engineering Fair.
  • the PDF entry form and online entry form are both completed (contact your local STA for these forms)
  • a written project report is uploaded with the online entry form (PDF preferred)
  • project report includes acknowledgement of prior research/development and assistance from experts/industry professionals
  • group projects include a maximum of three students
  • students must be an Australia Citizen or permanent resident
  • and for engineering entries only, a short video of the product in operation is uploaded with the online entry form (5 mins max)

Do you have further questions about how to enter? Contact us and we’ll be happy to help.